top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaime W. Dovichi

Tried and True.. Not your average year


As I turn another year older, I think back on one of the most meaningful years of my life.  I survived  Gracyn starting kindergarten, our first and last volleyball/football season,  and finally selling our first home and buying what we didn’t realize at the time,  was our dream home.


I have fought anxiety since I was little and would find little help at times. Anxiety wasn’t ever discussed through middle and high school.  I feel it’s only become a hot topic within the last 10-15 years. The strategies I’ve recently learned would have been game changing in my teen years.  I’ve definitely been challenged this year. I wouldn’t have gotten through this year as smooth as I did without therapy, yoga and resources.


I’m not a religious person, but I do believe God has a plan for us.  The more controlling I became, the worse the situation would get for me to handle.  Stressing everyday about selling our townhouse wasn’t going to get the townhouse sold.  I knew there was nothing more that could be done.  We lifted the oars, and let the real estate Gods play it out.  The time finally came when we had an offer, and we were able to start looking at homes in person.  If I were high anxiety and high stress, the process would have been miserable.  There were so many things that were out of our control.


So we stumbled on some open houses we decided to checkout just so we could see what we would get for the square footage.  We went to one open house and it wan’t for me.  The second was a fan favorite of my family but I wasn’t sold.  The irony of this house was, the Open House was listed wrong on Facebook and Redfin.  It was listed as Sunday, but it took place on  Saturday.  We called the realtor on the sign, and were lucky enough to find the relator living 2 houses down.  They came and opened it up for us and another couple.  We then went to see the house I thought we were going to buy, and it was horrible.  If there is such a thing, this house had bad house karma.  I just didn’t feel good about it, so we made an appointment to see the fan fav again.  So glad we settled on this house, I love it more everyday.  With every season, I get to decorate something new, we discover new things in the neighborhood and the nature preserve pond behind our house.  Somebody was looking out for us.  We definitely did our time, and I believe we deserve to be happy.


Fall brought us a new house and Gracyn starting kindergarten, while my husband started at a new school and also coaching football.  I started my 13th year as head volleyball coach and 9th year at my job.  After we finished our sports seasons, we realized that something had to give.  We couldn’t both work full-time and coach in the same season.  It was now time for me to hand over the reigns to my assistant and step down from the head coaching position.  I’m very interested to see how fall feels without such a crazy schedule and high anxiety game days.  Some days it was hard to breath because I was so anxious for matches.

It feels so nice to settle in and start our new chapters.  We have our anchor that we all come back to at the end of the day and start fresh tomorrow.  I love to treat each recharged day as a new chance to accomplish the next goal. Even if my goal is to remember to read with Gracyn, or play puppets with Brooklyn.  Somedays, that’s all I can offer, and that’s ok.


There’s not a lot of quality content to this post.  I guess I’m just pleasantly surprised at the progress made in the last year.  I’ve felt trapped for a while now, and I’m finally breaking free!  We were truly blessed in 2016.  I have some high hopes for 2017.  I’m hoping to find the strength and guts to make some big moves.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page